Great Lakes Region of the American Music Therapy Association

Recognition Awards

YearHonorary LifeServiceScholarly
2017Angela SnellLarisa McHughKamile Geist
2016Fran GoldbergTodd SchwartzbergAnnie Heiderscheit
2015Bill WebbPete MeyerEdward Roth
2014Ronna KaplanMelaine PohlmanSheri Robb
2013Lee Anna RasarSoozie Cotter-SchaufeleRussell Hilliard
2012Roger SmeltekopMichael McGuire & Angela SnellMichael Silverman
2007Amy FurmanEd GallagherLisa Gallagher
2011Rebecca HoughtonLaurie Farnan
2010Mary Ellen WylieNancy Dexter-Schabow
2009Roberta KaginEllen RayfieldFrederick (Ted) Tims
2008Marcia HumpalMary StryckSusan Gardstrom
2006Brian WilsonLinda Wright BowerDeb Burns
2005Michael McGuireDiane Knight
2004Mary Ellen Wylie
2003Dale TaylorLee Anna Rasar
2002 (none submitted)
2001Alan SolomonLalene Kay
2000Dale BartlettRoger SmeltekopDeforia Lane
1999Louise SteeleFaith Johnson
1998 (none submitted)
1997Ronna KaplanCharles Furman
1996Robert UnkeferLaurie Farnan
1995Mary ScovelAlan Solomon
1994Marilyn SandnessMichelle Schumacher
1993Mary Ann FeroloBrian Wilson

Would you like to nominate a deserving music therapist?

Each year the GLR presents the following awards:

  • Honorary Life Member Award: Awarded to any individual who resides within the Great Lakes Region and who has made varied and distinguished contributions to the field of music therapy.
  • Scholarly Activity Award: Awarded to a member of the Great Lakes Region who has contributed to the knowledge base of the field of music therapy through a pattern of scholarly presentation, research activity, publications, innovative techniques, etc.
  • Service Award: Awarded to a Music Therapist who is a member of the Great Lakes Region, and who has demonstrated a pattern of outstanding service and dedication to the Region through contributions as a clinician, clinical trainer, educator, Executive Committee member, government or public relations proponent, etc.

Anyone can submit a nomination! Take a moment to consider and recognize a deserving colleague, mentor, or teacher.

The deadline for submission of nominations is February 28, 2018. Nominations can be sent via email to President Elect Rebecca Findley Barnard at

GLR Award Recipients (PDF) – updated March 12, 2018